A time to be born, a time to die

Yesterday morning, my dearest friend phoned me.  She was in tears.  She had just heard that her brother-in-law had died that morning after having a massive heart attack.  I’m so useless in such situations.  I had met her brother-in-law on several occasions and thought he was a kind and gentle man who did everything for his family.  He was only 50.  I asked her to give her sister a hug from me and to let me know when the funeral would be.  I also asked if there was anything she wanted me to do for her.  I’m still kinda numb.

This evening, at 7:50pm, beloved ex called to say our second daughter was on her way to the birthing centre having dropped Happy Chappy off at her place.  Two hours later, a happy and relaxed daughter called to say that she had a healthy daughter.  My fifth grandchild.  🙂

As an atheist, I accept we’re here for a brief time and then die.  I don’t believe there is any grand purpose. All we can do is to give our latest family member love and guidance.

Leave a Reply

