Solace on the Solstice

Here in the southern hemisphere, today is the Winter Solstice.  I always look forward to this day each year because it provides a great psychological boost.  I can han handle the cold in winter but I really miss the sunlight.Today the sun rose close to 7:15am and set a few minutes before 5pm.  And for the next 6 months the sun will rise earlier and set later.

A few years ago I started my own little tradition on the day of the Winter Solstice – the making of Chicken & Leek pies; real comfort food.  Below is tonight’s effort.

Solstice Pie

And while we’re in the kitchen, here’s the cake we made for my eldest granddaughter’s 2nd birthday – last month.

This coming weekend, I’ll be travelling to Sydney for a family gathering.  Last year many of us got together to celebrate my sister’s 60th birthday and my eldest daughter thought it would be grand to have a mid-year family gathering each year.  So, on Saturday, beloved ex and I will drive to Sydney along with my 3 daughters (with partners) and my five grandkids (plus baby bump of grandchild #6 due in October). 🙂  There we will catch up with my brothers and sisters and their familes.

Leave a Reply

