Whiskey Tango Foxtrot – “T” wars

There is a lot of energy being spent by some in the blogosphere debating who is and isn’t “Trans”.  It has ever been thus.

Most of the noise seems to come from privileged women like myself who have had the opportunity and means to have been able to do something positive about our trans-ness.  The other attribute of these noise-making women is that they tend to be politically conservative.

I imagine it would be extremely difficult to explain to conservative family and friends that you are trans.  There would be a strong compulsion to distance yourself from other gender variant folk.

I find it particularly distressing when trans women claim that unless you have undergone surgery then you’re not really trans.

What a load of privileged poppycock.

I am trans because I was born that way, not because of the operation I had almost 9 years ago.

For many years I felt unable to resolve my trans-ness because of my responsibilities.  I had a family and, like most women, I would never do anything to jeopardise my ability to provide my children with a safe and secure childhood.  It wasn’t easy and there were times of deep depression. Many trans women do not act to resolve their trans-ness because of such responsibilities.

When my children were independent and I was no longer married, I acted to resolve my trans-ness.  I could do so because  45 years of male privilege had left me with the financial means to do so.  Fortunately I also had good health.

I feel no compulsion to justify my decisions to anyone.  I am grateful that my family has supported me and that my life is now one of contentment.  I’m happy to stand under any umbrella as long as everyone is civil towards one another.  I’m for treating everyone with dignity and respect.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bernadette
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 15:30:17

    This is one of the reasons Chloe only went to a couple of the meetings in the “support” groups in Canberra. Too many people with their own idea of what is “correct” for a transperson.

    Reply

  2. Peta
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 06:46:41

    Bernadette,
    I sometimes think how lucky I was that there were only a few trans journals and static web sites around when I transitioned. I went it alone when it came to transition – I even moved away from support groups and lived in Batemans Bay for a couple of years.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

