Hurtling towards Christmas

Here we are, half way through December.  This is always very hectic with so many of my family and friends having birthdays around this time of year coupled with Christmas shopping (although the shopping doesn’t seem as hectic as in previous years) and rounds of Christmas parties.

On Monday morning, I heard my first Fairytale of New York of the season.  You know it’s near Christmas when the radio starts playing that.  There were a few bars of it played during the Vicar of Dibley Christmas special from a few years ago screened on Sunday night.  Once I hear How to Make Gravy I’ll be well and truely in the Christmas mood.

Later today I’ll be attending a work Christmas party at the home of one of our lecturers.  The boss will be providing a spit roast with salad and vegetables and our host has a swimming pool – the forecast is for 29 degrees celsius but with showers developing.  I’ll be taking along some snacks of smoked salmon, sour cream and chives as well as a fruity, cheeky white wine.  LAter this week we have the Greens Christmas get-together and then on Sunday morning it will be brunch with family and friends as I celebrate my*cough*th birthday.

The eldest grandchild has just completed his first year of school and his report card was interesting reading.  Maud knows why, but he’s been going to a Catholic school and for some reason he’s having a few problems understanding how Joseph fits into the picture .  He’s also having difficulty comparing himself to Jeezus – he’s getting a magic kit for Christmas so that may help.

Once again, Christmas eve will be spent here in Canberra with my children and grandchildren, my ex and her husband and her sisters and nieces and nephews.  On Christmas day I’ll drive to Sydney to spend the afternoon and evening with my brothers and sisters and their families.  I really do love Christmas.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bernadette
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 17:04:09

    Sounds like a buys and enjoyable Xmas.
    You write so well 🙂 I love the magic kit idea lol
    Have a lovely Christmas eat lots, be Merry and have a safe drive to and from Sydney.

    Reply

  2. Peta
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 08:49:48

    Bernadette,

    I wasn’t sure whether I should include the magic kit statement – some may find it offensive. It’s good to know my only reader shares my sense of humour.

    And a safe and happy christmas to you and your loved ones.

    Reply

  3. Bernadette
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 14:20:22

    lol I’m sure I’m not your only reader 🙂 I have to get chloe to show me how to put links to blogs that I follow that aren’t blogger ones,I found you through a link on someone elses (i think or maybe exposeyourblog?)and I get clicks from other peoples that way too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

