Evocative sounds

I am anosmic. Can’t smell a thing.  Have never been able to smell anything.  If you are going to be lacking one of the senses, I’d rather be anosmic than have sight or hearing impairments.

People who can smell often find themselves (I’m told) having memories triggered by a particular smell.  Obviously this doesn’t happen to me.  But if I hear Frank Sinatra singing Love and Marriage or Doris Day singing Que Sera Sera, I’m immediately taken back to our kitchen in Concord and I’m 4 years old again.

There were no televisions then.  But the radio (or wireless as it was then called) was ever on and providing the background sounds to my early years.

I don’t know why, but if I hear Ain’t She Sweet or California Here I Come I’m back in the stalls at the Ritz in Central Concord on a Saturday afternoon as a six year-old.

The sounds of the sixties are most evocative.  I clearly remember the first time I heard the Beatles.  It was electric.  The Beach Boys, the Atlantics, the Stones, the Kinks, the Doors – it was a bewildering time for me but the music was great.  Waterloo Sunset struck a chord (so to speak).  I seemed to be an observer of life rather than a participant, looking at the world from my window.

In my dark periods  the sounds of Mad World and Everybody Hurts provided a perverse comfort and those songs are still dear to me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bernadette
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 01:03:53

    I’ve never met anyone who couldn’t smell! This would be pretty handy when passing dead kangaroos in high summer.
    i know exactly what you mean about the radio and the sounds of the 60′.I can’t hear any 50’s or 60’s music without remembering my childhood.when the radio wasn’t on,dad had his records playing full blast on the sterogram.i still love johhny o’keefe lol

    Reply

  2. Peta
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 10:43:37

    ..and pretty handy when changing nappies (I imagine)!

    My sister got a record player for her 13th birthday – the first record-player we had in the house. One of her first 45s was JOK’s Move, Baby, Move (get in the groove)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

