Home from the Sea

I managed to get down to my sister’s place at Jervis Bay for a few days.  It’s always lovely to spend a few days down there – it’s one of the prettiest places on the coast.  It does get rather crowded around the Christmas holidays but there are still lots of beaches to go round.

My sister spoils me rotten whenever I visit.  I try to do the same for her when she comes to Canberra.

Saturday was perfect weather.  We went for an early morning walk along the path from Vincentia to Huskisson and back with some of her fitness class friends.  We then enjoyed a cup of coffee at the deli before heading home to change into our cossies (swimming costumes).

The little beach we go to was rather crowded but we managed to find a place for our towels and enjoyed some time in the cooling waters of the Bay.  I love floating on my back with my eyes closed – just bobbing up and down with the gentle undulations of the sea.  A few blue bottles appeared and the beach was soon deserted.  As one woman departed, she asked if my sister and I were twins.  I’m not sure who was more offended – me or my older sister.

Sunday was wet so we spent some time in the little bookshop at Huskisson.  My sister had given me a gift voucher from the shop for my birthday late last year.  I chose an early Kate Grenville novel Dark Places as well as Bluebeard’s Egg – a book of short stories by a favourite author Margaret Atwood.

I came home early in the week because I had a dentist appointment.  No problems but a good checkup and clean cost me almost $200 – the lecture I received about flossing was free.

When I returned from the dentist, I found that my television had given up the ghost.  I took some perverse pride in still owning a TV with a cathode ray tube.  I replaced it with a relatively small LCD TV and also got a new DVD player ‘cos my old one packed it in a year ago.  Quite an expensive week.

This will be my last year of working.  I turn 60 at the end of the year and plan to retire to a life of genteel poverty.  Still, I can’t say I’m all that enthused about returning to work next Monday.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. The Rite
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 01:05:11

    Really Gr8 ! Thanks For sharing..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

