Life happens

Just a few things that have been happening in my life.

The day the sky fell (not quite)

I have a couple of spare rooms in my house.  One of those is designated the “Junk  Room” – a place where everything that doesn’t have a home gets tossed.  Needless to say the junk room can be rather messy and for that reason I keep the door to that room closed.

I can’t remember how long the door had been closed but it could have been for up to a year.

It was the water seeping under the door that caused me to open that door for the first time in ages.  And there, before my eyes, was a big chunk of the ceiling crashed down on the junk, wet carpet, wet mattresses, wet everything.  I don’t know when the ceiling collapsed but it was certainly a call to action.  The room is now empty and the carpet removed.  I had planned to do these things “one day”.  I’m glad it has happened because it got me off my arse and doing something I should have done along time ago.  I’m still waiting for an insurance assessor to come out – I imagine all assessors in Australia have been kept busy in the many parts of Australia that experienced flooding of the last few months.

Law Reform

The ACT Government has referred the matter of transgender law reform to the ACT Law Reform Advisory Council.  Since I work in the same building as the chair of that council, I took the opportunity to have a chat with him.  I am quietly optimistic that something will finally be done to make life easier for trans folk here in Canberra.

John Waters

On Friday night a few of us went to the Southern Cross Club to see John Waters in his show “John Lennon – Looking Through a Glass Onion”.  It was brilliant.  The band was excellent, John’s singing was really good and the narrative, delivered in a Liverpudlian accent, was at times touching, biting, ironic – very Lennon.

The Birthday Party

My eldest grandson turned 6 last Monday and we had a party for him yesterday.  Birthday parties are normally family affairs but this year there were hordes of school friends there too.  Sixteen very loud 6 year-olds running around the place is not my idea of fun.  Sitting in a relatively quiet spot, one of the mother’s of a school mate started chatting with me.  She asked where I fitted into the family and I told her I was a grandma.  She then asked if I was S’s mum or R’s mum.  “Well, actually, I’m R’s dad” I informed her.  After only a very brief  “Oh”, we continued our conversation.

A trip to the country

My boss’s husband has a birthday on Monday.  We’re having a surprise party for him today at Gundaroo, a small village not far from Canberra.  A chap from work is taking him on a bike ride and when he reaches his destination we’ll all be there. (And he will be sweaty and smelly – ha ha, SURPRISE)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bernadette
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 10:13:52

    ohh thats crap about the ceiling……..but nice to get new things?

    Is there a link to somewhere that I can read about the law reform?

    The John Waters /Lennon show sounds great.

    How I miss kids birthday parties, I need grandkiddies soon I think . The slight “oh” in the conversation is like a little timewarp lol I’ve had it too, talking about my daughter. You can quickly tell who is sincere and who is not though.

    Great to see you back 🙂

    Reply

  2. Peta
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 16:28:30

    Hi Bernadette,
    The details of the trans law reform referral can be found at:
    ACT Law Reform Advisory Council

    Reply

Leave a Reply

