Rambling

It  is now just over 12 months since my doctor leaned over and poked me in the belly, made me stand on her scales and gave me a lecture on being overweight.  It took a day or so for my resentment and indignation to abate.  I knew she was right.  I had no excuse for not exercising.  And thus began my habit of walking regularly and eating well.

Last Sunday was a particularly fine Winter’s day here in Canberra so I decided to do some walking in a nearby Nature Reserve and this time I took my camera.

A 10 minute walk from my home finds me on a track alongside farmland.  Half and hour later I’m in the Nature Reserve.  Just before entering the reserve, there is an old bush cemetery where the remains of BFF’s great-great-great grandparents were buried.

The Brindabella Mountains form the western border of the ACT.  Just over the mountains is the valley where Australian writer Miles Franklin grew up.

The Pinnacle is a grandiose name for a hill in the Nature reserve which offers sweeping views of the ACT.   The beauty is that you can hardly see any man-made structures.  We are so lucky to live in Australia’s “Bush capital”

Just before reaching the Pinnacle, there is an outcrop of rocks from which some lovely views can be seen.

Here is Black Mountain From the top of one of these rocks.

I came across a kangaroo on my walk. It was standing about 30 metres in front of me on the track.  We stared at each other for about 30 seconds and when I made a move to get my camera from my backpack, it bounded away.

The walk took me just under 3 hours but included several stops for taking photos, having a drink of water and snacking on an apple.  I’ve lived where I live for over 30 years now and only discovered the beautiful nature park that’s practically on my doorstep last year.  I’ll be having many more walks through the reserve in the years to come.

Meanwhile – here’s a photo of grandchild No. 7 together with a photo of the chicken and leek pie I baked for the Winter Solstice back in June.

Well, that’s enough rambling for the moment.

Carpe Diem

Leave a Reply

